Summer Pie

I woke up yesterday morning, threw on my rain boots, drove to a little farm in NJ, and met my momma for a sweet morning of blueberry picking.  Organic, huge, juicy, round, sweet, blueberries.  I spent part of my childhood on a farm, and picking berries is one of the sweetest memories I have growing up.  Walking through the patch with my mom in her sun hat and this baby in my belly is a memory I will hold dear forever.  Thank you for yesterday, momma!

I’ve posted about it before.  I tweet about it on a regular basis.  To make more of it was my new years resolution.  It might be my favorite dessert!  It’s SO good.

Blueberry pie, y’all.  (again)

This time, the recipe is my own.  I gathered all the information I needed from various sources, and threw it all together to make this delicious pie.  It’s easy peasy.  I made it last night, 38 weeks pregnant, in our hot kitchen.  You can do it, too.

 

blueberry pie

 

Blueberry Pie

Note: I cannot be held responsible for over consumption of this pie.

Ingredients

4-5 cups of fresh blueberries, washed and pat dry

1/2 cup of sugar

1/4 cup of cornstarch

1/4 Tsp of vanilla extract

A few dashes of cinnamon

A dash or two of lemon juice

 

3/4 cup flour (I used gluten free bread flour)

3/4 cup sugar

6 Tbs cold butter

 

Pie crust (I bought a pre-made gluten free pie crust from Whole Foods)

Instructions

Thaw pie crust to room temperature.  Put all of your blueberries in a large bowl and crush about 1 cup of them with your hands.  Mix in sugar, cornstarch, vanilla, cinnamon, and lemon juice until blueberries are well coated.  Pour mixture evenly into pie crust.

In a separate bowl, mix flour, sugar, and butter with your fingers until crumbly.  Pour over pie in an even layer (you won’t need all of the crumble!).  Bake at 400 F for 35 minutes uncovered.  Cover with aluminum foil to prevent burning and continue baking for another 20 minutes or until pie is bubbling and golden.  Let cool completely and transfer to fridge for safekeeping.

Serve with a tall glass of cold milk and eat for dessert!  And at midnight, breakfast, brunch, lunch, etc.  It’s delicious any time of day.

photo baby

 

If you need me for anything this week, you can find me pigging out on those blueberries waiting for the baby to get here.  1 week and 3 days until due date!  Come on, baby!

 

One thought on “Summer Pie

Leave a Reply

