Tarte au Bleuette

Ah, the luxurious life.

Luxurious in love.  Luxurious in hope.  Luxurious in the things the Lord gives me.

Blueberry pie luxurious.

My husband and I, we went to the market the other day for the Dutch Festival.  It wasn’t much of a festival, really.  Just some donuts and bread and all kinds of yummy that I can’t eat.  After searching the market up and down for the perfect buy, we finally settled on the ingredients for an adventure in homemade yogurt.  Standing in line before me was a girl and her container of blueberries.  One quick glance at the price tag and my heart starting skipping beats.  $1, it said.  $1!  ONE DOLLAR!  It must have been a typo.  One dollar for a ginormous container of blueberries could never be true, I said.  One dollar for a mazillion blueberries was unheard of, I said.  One dollar for all I could eat perfectly round blueberries was the stuff of dreams, I said.

But I was wrong.

One dollar for the price of a large baby bathtub full of blueberries was true, they said.  And if I had it my way, I would have bought the whole market full of blueberries.  I shimmied home, eager to admire the grand purchase I had just made.  And in case you were wondering, the homemade yogurt failed.

Extremely Delicious French Blueberry Pie

Adapted from Vicky Tiel’s french apple pie recipe in her memoir, “It’s All About The Dress”.

Crust:

1 cup flour (I used gluten free all purpose, because it’s what I had on hand)

1 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature (I used salted, because it’s what I had on hand)

Filling:

4-5 cups blueberries

3/4 cups sugar

4 TBS cornstarch

Pinch of Salt

Pinch of cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Sift flour into a bowl.  Add sugar, egg, and butter, and mix with a fork.  Mixture will be sticky.  Scoop spoonfuls of dough into an un-greased pie pan and flatten onto bottom and sides to form a crust.  Mix pie filling ingredients together and pour into crust.  Put remaining dough on top, in little pieces (I tried a lattice, but it just melted into a thin crust).  Bake for 45-50 minutes or until golden brown.  Let sit one hour before cutting.

It’s SO GOOD, y’all.  Blueberry pie, y’all.

Adam has class every Saturday this semester, and I’ll be left to fend for myself.  I was thinking about having a ladies brunch at my place every saturday (or picnic brunch).  Think mimosas and white table cloths.  Yes?

2 thoughts on “Tarte au Bleuette

    • Exactly, and I miss you dear one. Adam decided to nix the Saturday class, so I still have my man for sleepy mornings in. Hallelujah.

      Like

Leave a Reply

