Food for girls like me

FOOD.

The biggest question I get about g-free is

“Can you eat anything?”

The second is

“What is gluten?”

I forget that people don’t know.  I didn’t know until I had to know, and that’s ok.  Because who cares, really, if there is no reason to care.  Gluten is found in wheat, rye, and barley… so I can’t eat anything that has any of those ingredients.  You’d be surprised how much of the food we eat has those things, but it is easy and fun and yummier than you might think.

It’s simplest to just eat fruits and veggies, meat and cheese.  If you are new to g-free and want to keep some of your old good favorites you should know that you can eat the following:

Chocolate and most candy bars

Almost all Mexican food, corn tortillas

Icecream (check the back of the carton)

There are also a ton of alternatives to other comfort foods.  So far I don’t like ANY of the bread items I’ve tasted, but Red Mill has some awesome brownies so I’ll try their bread next.  My momma is sending me some goodies in the mail that I hope are delush.

I would definitely say that, after overcoming a few obstacles, I’ve learned how to navigate the gf world.  I feel pretty confident that I can eat the same thing that everyone else is eating in my own way.  If you see me grabbing the toppings off of a pizza and leaving the crust, it would be ok to judge me.  I probably wouldn’t care though… $5 Little Caesar’s anybody?  We went to a party the other day and I licked the icing off a cupcake… I didn’t say g-free was pretty.

I’ll leave you with a recipe.  It’s as delicious, if not more, than the regular version.  So, eat up!

Gluten Free Alfredo Sauce

1 Tbs butter

2 tbs corn starch

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup parmesan cheese (or however much you want, you really can’t go wrong with cheese)

salt and pepper

Melt the butter in a skillet.  Stir in the corn starch and cook about 5 (or 20, it doesn’t really matter) minutes until the corn starch starts turning brownish.  Add the milk and stir until combined.  Add the cheese and stir until smooth.  Salt and Pepper to taste.

Serves one person.  Enjoy on top of your favorite gluten free pasta.

It’s divine!  And I’ll ask again… is anybody out there gluten free, or is it just me?

3 thoughts on “Food for girls like me

  1. Hey Erin! I am not gluten free, but I experiment a lot. I have a good recipe somewhere for a homemade gf baking mix that makes great pancakes and scones. Also, have you thought about trying traditional sourdough after you’ve had the time to detox from wheat for a while? There is a lot of evidence that shows sourdough is easily digested. King Arthur flour has a great starter you can order if you’re ever interested…or you can move here and I will give you some of mine! I’d love to talk more about this!

    Like

    • Kate, you are amazing! I would love to talk more about it! I haven’t tried sourdough yet, but I would love to. Adam has been experimenting a lot in the kitchen for me. I would love to know your tricks and hear about your starter. Can I be your apprentice when I move home? :) We might be neighbors, by the way. Any helpful suggestions you have would be amazing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

