Grace Day

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

I usually like to keep my blogs funny or helpful or full of pictures, but this one just needed to be for me today. Today was a day that I NEEDED grace. I need grace every day, but today was one of those realized days of terrible Erin flesh and I needed grace a lot.

We are leaving tomorrow morning to go home for the holidays, and there is so much to do.  I’m sure someone understands this little bit of crazy, even though it’s my absolute favorite time of year.  Besides fall maybe.  It was just one of those days.

Today, I yelled and spanked and time-outed too much.  It worked because the kids were terrorized.  No really, I saw a couple of shrink back in fear lip quivers and big crocodile tears.

Grace.

Today I went to get the clothes out of the dryer and realized that I had forgotten to push the start button.  So I pushed it and then I waited for the clothes to dry.  Then I went back to move the clothes from the washer to the dryer and realized that I had also forgotten to push start on the washing machine.  And to put in soap too.

Grace.

Today I chased a kid down the hallway, slipped, fell, peeled off a little stucco with my elbow.

Grace.

Today I poured laundry detergent all over my brand new boots.  At least they smell fresh.

Grace.

Today I made the kids macaroni and cheese for lunch.  They wanted pb&j.  I made them pb&j.  They wanted macaroni and cheese.

Grace.

Today a kid threw his Christmas ornament on the floor and shattered the glass.  His mom cried.  I cleaned up the glass.  I cried too.

Grace.

 

I am still precious even if all of these babies, and dogs, and laundry baskets think I’m crazy.

Moment by moment.

Christmas is coming soon.

4 thoughts on “Grace Day

  1. Oh sweet Erin, I love you, and I miss you. I hope you enjoy your time with family…I’m sorry about your day, I understand all too well….
    :)

    Like

  2. Hello sweet darling friend!
    Your day yesterday was my day today.
    I arrive at work and the four year has pink eye. I am supposed to give her benedryl (Mom leaves to take the dog to the vet) she arrives home and I have forgotten to her the medicine. The three girls room is a disaster – we began cleaning it and after an hour (and not close to being clean) i knock over a lamp, which shatters and glass goes everywhere. sigh. Clean up the mess. Story time before lunch – we are reading on the top bunk bed when boommm, the bed sinks in the middle and the wooden planks fall. Then after lunch we pull out the Christmas stuff – and they are decorating a tree, you guessed, a glass ornament falls and “shatters”
    some days i tell ya!!!
    love ya lots friend
    The girls argue when they are playing barbies, i threaten chorse but it doesn’t really do anything. Finally

    Like

  3. Grace. Not necessarily agreeable children. Grace. Not machines that read our minds and run themselves. Grace. Not days Divinely orchestrated to prevent our fleshly riling. Grace. HIS unmerrited favor toward us. In spite of ourselves. How awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

