Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving!

I’m in the in between right now.  Adam in a sweet turkey coma sleeping beside me, I’m thinking about going out to the fire and make s’mores, and wondering how I’m going to be warm enough when I go out shopping in the 20 degree black friday weather in just a few hours!

We are spending this weekend with our friend Ellen in Georgetown with her family, and it has been sweet as sweet can be.  It’s my first Thanksgiving away from my family, and I couldn’t have asked for a better place to spend this time.  My family does the traditional turkey/ham, green bean casserole, hash brown casserole, mashed potatoes, stuffing, pecan pie, pumpkin pie, and if we are lucky, chocolate pie.  But just you wait until I tell you the menu of my day…

Thanksgiving Eve:

Turkey Steaks with feta and green onions

Quinoa with tomato, corn, and spices

Avocado slices

Molten chocolate lava cake

Thanksgiving:

Smoked Turkey

Chipotle Tangerine Cranberry Relish

Salad with cranberries, goat cheese, and yogurt lime dressing

Sweet Potatoes

Tiramisu and Chocolate Pecan Pie

I just love food!  After lunch we all gathered around and listened as the cousins each sang their own songs or played music for Grammy Fish, a precious lady who is actually writing a memoir about her amazing life.  I don’t know if it’s ever going to be famous, but this woman deserves a book of her own.  She was so peaceful on the couch, listening sweetly with her eyes closed, and it brought me to tears watching her enjoy her family.  That was my favorite part of today.

And now we are at another part of the family’s house.  And we are being loved on, hugged on, and laughing this day away.  For all of my family who maybe reads my blog (momma), we are being taken care of this year.  Wish you could be here.

Happy Thanksgiving from the Bedenbaughs!

4 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. OK Erin, you caught me – I do read your blogs! I am thankful that you were so blessed by Grammy Fish. I am thankful that your day was well filled with loves and hugs and laughs. I am thankful that your belly was full of good dinner and your life is full of joy with Adam. Especially thankful that God let me be your mom. Glad you are my girl. love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

