Sweet Potato and Warm Black Bean Salsa

This, my friends, is maybe my most favorite meal ever.  Healthy meal.  I could probably live on stove popped popcorn with white cheddar seasoning or bread and cheese.  Or pasta with tomatoes and feta.  I actually just like food.  Healthy wise, I could maybe go vegetarian if I had more skills and creativity in the kitchen… (we all know that lasted about 2 weeks before I broke up with vegetarianism when it was time to go to Chick-fil-a.)  I don’t really love meat, except on hamburgers, blt’s, and fajitas.  Ok ok, maybe I love it.  But in general, we sort of stick to easy meals that are fresh or simple baked goods.  I can’t tell you how many times we’ve eaten fruit and homemade bagels for dinner.  Or pretzels with mustard.  or ciabatta bread?  You get the idea.

I hate to dispose my bad eating habits, but I will say this- I love healthy food.  I wish I was a rabbit.  And as you also know, I’ve begun kind of a health kick.  Today, I made it all the way through the day without even a hint of sadness at missing out on anything with added sugar.  Oh wait.  Adam took me on a surprise date this morning to get pumpkin spice lattes and muffins.  I’m bad at remembering these things.  But I stuck it through lunch and dinner was so satisfying.  So without further delay…

Sweet Potato with Warm Black Bean Salsa  (it’s awesome!)

2 medium sweet potatoes

1 can of black beans (drained and rinsed)

1 can of diced tomatoes (or 2 fresh medium tomatoes) drained

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 teaspoon of ground cumin (or a couple of shakes)

1 teaspoon of ground coriander (I’ve skipped this ingredient countless times)

a little salt and pepper

1 lime

Bake the sweet potatoes accordingly… in the oven for about an hour or in the microwave for about 7-8 minutes each.  Mix all of the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and cook in the microwave to warm it up.  Cut your sweet potatoes in half, scoop on tons of spoonfuls of black bean salsa, and top it off with a dollop of sour cream and some fresh cilantro.  So GOOD!

I think it’s hearty enough on it’s own, but when I cook it for my brother and stepdad I add a little hamburger steak or grilled cheese on the side.  Please try this.

Also, I’ve discovered 2 awesome salad dressings.  Brianna’s Blush Wine Vinaigrette is my favorite.  I also make a homemade kind that consists of whisking together balsamic vinegar, a little olive oil, and some honey-dijon mustard.  Both are great.

Anyone have some good, easy, cheap, healthy meal ideas or recipes?

3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato and Warm Black Bean Salsa

    • I’m so glad you tried it Jess! I’m going to miss you and I’m so excited about hearing about all of your au pair German adventures. You are so inspiring!

      Like

Leave a Reply

