Inspiration

I’ve been a little needy in the inspiration department.  A lot of things are going on in my life and I think sometimes I am a little vague or not as honest as I could be in sharing those things with people.  Probably because, generally, the things that are going on in my life I tend to see as negative.  I feel like I’m in somewhat of a wilderness season.  I love marriage.  It’s one of the only things I can point to that is a steady good in my life these days.  And God is always a steady good, even when I feel like maybe He doesn’t live in Texas (He does by the way).  Here are some things that keep my spirits up on those days when all I can do is trust that His plan is better than mine.

1. Cupcakes.

As mentioned before, my husband is a baker.  And those cupcakes he made from Ming Makes Cupcakes were so yummy!  I don’t rely on food to get me through tough times, but sometimes sweet things like cupcakes help.  Especially when they are decorated so cute.

2. Hymns

The song most often in my heart is “Before the Throne of God Above” because sweet Megan sang it at my wedding, and it makes me think of that precious week.  Also, Ad plays “Thy Mercy, my God” so much and I love singing it with him.  It is sweet.

3. Apartment Therapy

I have the book sitting on my bedside table and I like to flip through it for some good home inspiration.  There are lots of things we would like to do, and I almost constantly dream of what I want my house to look like someday.  I am inspired to paint and create and re-build and enjoy the space I’m in.  The blog’s not bad either.

4. Anthropologie

Pretty pictures.

5. Packing my suitcase

I’m leaving on a trip soon, and tonight I am packing my bags.  I am actually enjoying this, because I am washing a few things in some yummy smelling detergent.  I am also sewing/mending a few things by hand.  It is very exciting.

6. Morning Glory Muffins

Ad made these last night and packed a few in my bag before I left for work this morning.  So good, and full of yummy things like raisins, carrots, coconut, almonds, cinnamon!  But the best part was just that he packed them up for me.

7. My dad

He isn’t doing very well.  He has a brain tumor and is getting very sick.  But I’m inspired by him.  Inspired to love more while I have the time.  Inspired to appreciate little things.  Inspired to share Jesus with people who are hurting or sick or just need a hug. Inspired to keep in touch with people who I love who live far away from me.

8. A book

I’m going to go for a big thing here.  I have an idea for a book that I’d like to write.  It’s been in my head for about 3 or 4 years now, and I think I’m finally ready to start writing.  I don’t even know how to write a book, or where to even begin.  But I’m excited enough to write for myself and see where it takes me.  I don’t have a title or anything.  Just an idea.  I can tell you that it will be fictional, and based on a dream that my momma had a while back.

Anybody else going through a wilderness season and have any inspiring suggestions?

One thought on “Inspiration

  1. Dear Love,
    I understand what you mean about going through a wilderness period – somewhat! It is frustrating when you want things to happen and they don’t or when you are waiting for certian things and they don’t happen. So you lean on the Lord and of course my darling husband. This has been a tough week for me and i have been super emotional and teary-eyed. So when i feel like crying, i first cry, then i think of all i have to be thankful for! i also try to savor the small things, cuddling with my husband, a sweet card i got from my mommy, a hug from my sweet four year old, a long hot shower, thinking of ways to decorate my house, making dinner, candles, a clean home….just to name a few. i also talk to God alot and try to spend time in His word. but i love you and know that this too will pass! love
    manda

    Like

Leave a Reply

