Fried goat cheese

Today was my first monday in the real world of being a new wife.  Adam went to work this morning and let me sleep in a little bit.  The sun shines right through the window, which faces east, and wakes us up early.  Which means sleeping in lasts until about 9 o’clock and by then the sun is just begging me to get out of bed.  I brewed a cup of coffee and started on laundry, which isn’t so bad because our washer/dryer is in the kitchen and I can look out the window and eat breakfast while the clothes are cleaning.  I then ventured out to run some errands, grocery shop, and attempted to cook my first dinner.

I started with dessert so that when Adam got home, the house would smell good.  His favorite cookie is oatmeal raisin, my favorite is chocolate chip… so I settled on oatmeal chocolate chip.  All was well.  And then the oven started smoking, and soon the kitchen filled with smoke.  And then the fire alarm went off.  And that was all from pre-heating the oven.  I am usually a good baker, but somehow it seemed appropriate that this should happen on my first day.  Nevertheless I managed to stir the batter while waving a dish towel at the alarm to get it to stop beeping.  And baked some delicious cookies!  We just finished eating them up with some home brewed espresso, which was also very good.

and adam's sourdough bread starter in the window

On our honeymoon we ate so much delicious food (more on that to come).  One of our favorites was fried goat cheese, which was served with pumpkin preserves and was amazing.  I wanted to surprise Ad with that as part of our meal, so I made craisin walnut salad with fried goat cheese and raspberry vinaigrette.  It was so much fun to make, and easy!  Here is my recipe:

Goat cheese (i used garlic and herb for the salad) rolled into balls that are an inch or so thick and freeze for at least 30 minutes.  Fill a bowl with some flour.  Fill a second bowl with 1 egg, beaten.  Fill a third bowl with some bread crumbs.  Dip the goat cheese balls into the flour, then egg, then bread crumbs and fry in some very hot oil.  Take it out when they are golden brown!

Now I am listening to my husband play guitar, and then we will have some Bible time together before we get to sleep.  It has been a beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

